Yuleba was settled in 1865 and was originally located on Yuleba Creek, 11 kilometres south east of its current location. In 1879, the town was moved to the railway crossing, officially known as Baltinglass. In 1901, Baltinglass was renamed to Yuleba, whilst the original location of the township took the official name ‘Old Yuleba’. Residents lived at both sites until a flood in 1910 convinced them to move to the new location.
Found on the eastern border of the Maranoa region 60 kms east of Roma, Yuleba is a well equipped town. The town is as a service centre for the smaller community of Jackson and the rural sector with commercial premises, a hotel/motel, food store, post office, sporting and recreational facilities and a primary school.
Yuleba features prominently in the history of the Cobb & Co. Coach Service with the last horse drawn coach in Australia running from Yuleba to Surat in 1924. Visitors can relive this bygone era by retracing this significant last Cobb & Co run and viewing sites of local significance such as the Cobb & Co Mural, Aboriginal native wells and Cobb & Co Corduroys.
Remnants of the horse drawn era, the Corduroys are a fine example of civil construction techniques of yesteryear. In wet weather ‘corduroys’ consisted of stretches of cypress pine saplings laid across gullies and the sandy or black soil sections of the roadway thus enabling coaches to negotiate these surfaces.
Just five kilometres south-east of Yuleba is scenic Judd’s Lagoon which features some magnificent flora and fauna. The locals also know it as a good fishing spot. This scenic lagoon and wetlands provide a tranquil natural backdrop for visitors wishing to bush camp and enjoy watching the amazing birdlife.